The future is a scary place

IMG_0088

Choosing what to study is scary. I know that there’s no shame in quitting and simply start over again with another subject, but still.

Choosing what to do after you’ve studied for a bachelor or master is scary. You’ve got your student loans knocking on a door in the back of your head; making sure you’ll never forget. It’s time to get a real job. A look at me, I’m grown-up job. Fast.

Can you ever be one hundred per cent sure that you’ve chosen the right path while you’re still walking it? No, I don’t think so.

I have for a very long time been pretty determined on what I want to do when I grow up, and maybe also who I want to be. After desperately wanting to be an actor at the age of 8 or 9 (when I ended up crying out of nervousness on my first audition for a play), and also wanting to be a vet even though I’m allergic to almost every animal on the planet, I found out what I really liked to do- and what I didn’t end up crying or sneezing of. Writing. Most people might think ‘Well, you’ve found your thing, good for you’. But again, choosing what to study is in many ways equal with choosing what to do the rest of your life. I am not afraid to say that Mr Journalism has been the one all the way. Was it wrong of me to exclude everything else along the process of figuring out who I wanted to be? Writing is not my only interest, but it’s still the only interest that has gotten my full attention and appreciation in the planning of my future. I guess it is easier to come up with one plan and stick with it, rather than looking at millions of options. If you see it the other way, however, it is easier to regret your choice when you haven’t been checking out all of your possibilities in the first place.

This is not a ‘I regret my choice of career preparation’ text, because I really don’t. I love writing, and I have fun in the making of my bachelor in Journalism and Creative Writing. Sometimes I just wonder whether I’ve taken on my evaluation of options to easily. I do take the eager I feel, both for the rest of my years of studying and for getting a real job, as a positive sign. A sign that I’m heading in the right direction. Heading for my dream job.

Leave a Reply

